mondays @ 8pm on wjhu

3: songs for heartbroken folks

In playlist on 15 March 10 at 9:41 pm

From the top of a rainy Monday evening — hello, babies.  As we all know, winter is a season of icy sidewalks and rocky relationshipping.  In anticipation of the springtime ahead of us, I wanted to acknowledge (and put to rest!) the sadness of the cold months with a mopey playlist that I’m calling, “Songs for Heartbroken Folks”.  Because Hopkins undergrads have dispersed for break, I have the station to myself… and in such an event, why shouldn’t we commiserate for more than an hour? Yes! Why not! We did it! Surprise two-hour show! Due to routine overzealousness, it ended up being about 2.5 hours, actually.  Hope you enjoyed it:

  1. Wye Oak, “I Hope You Die”
  2. Arthur Russell, “Our Last Night Together”
  3. Devendra Banhart, “Forget About Him” (Kath Bloom cover)
  4. Bob Dylan, “Abandoned Love”
  5. St. Vincent, “These Days” (Jackson Browne cover)
  6. Camera Obscura, “James”
  7. The Tallest Man On Earth, “Burden of Tomorrow”
  8. Joanna Newsom, “Sadie”
  9. The Magnetic Fields, “I Don’t Really Love You Anymore”
  10. Micah P. Hinson, “When We Embraced”
  11. The Mountain Goats, “Raja Vocative” (Daytrotter session)
  12. Sam Cooke, “Bring It On Home To Me”
  13. Cat Power, “Lost Someone”
  14. Hop Along, Queen Ansleis, “Failure” (now just Hop Along, and coming to a city near you!)
  15. Deer Tick, “Dirty Dishes”
  16. Belle & Sebastian, “I’m A Cuckoo”
  17. The Beach Boys, “Tell Me Why”
  18. Spoon, “Anything You Want”
  19. Lemuria, “Dog – Dogs”
  20. Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings, “How Long Do I Have To Wait For You?”
  21. The King Khan & BBQ Show, “I’ll Never Belong”
  22. Daniel Johnston, “Silly Love”
  23. Alison Krauss & Union Station, “New Favorite” (Gillian Welch cover, I think?)
  24. Phosphorescent, “Can I Sleep in Your Arms Tonight” (Willie Nelson cover)
  25. Joni Mitchell, “A Case of You”
  26. The Mountain Goats, “Bad Priestess”
  27. Dinosaur Jr., “Get Me” (alternate version)
  28. Bob Dylan, “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” (No Direction Home bootleg)
  29. The Magnetic Fields, “I Don’t Believe You”
  30. Built to Spill, “Else”
  31. Solomon Burke, “Won’t You Give Him One More Chance”
  32. The Mountain Goats, “Standard Bitter Love Song #1″ (live at Zoop ’07)
  33. Woodpigeon, “You’re My Only Home” (Magnetic Fields cover)
  34. Jens Lekman, “The Wrong Hands”
  35. Beulah, “Cruel Minor Change”

    ** Hollered at: Caleb in Baltimore (who is a famous musician, did you know this); Scott & Katie (the loveliest couple I know); Aita; Sine (& her very kind mom!!) in Baltimore; my sisters at home; the nine on-campus listeners (you are heartily commended for being in The Greatest City In America and not like Key West or some shit); An & Jessica L. (of Red Emma’s fame & fortune.  Thanks for the love, and for playing my show at Emma’s!); oh hey and yes! finally, but not hierarchically, the good patrons of Red Emma’s on this drizzly Monday night! Woohoo!

Whew.  We really packed a punch there, didn’t we, with all of those mopey tunes.  Gosh.  I don’t know about you, but I’m sort of exhausted.  I also managed to share a small bit of my recent heartbrokenness on the air (summary: long-distance is a such a bummer.  Madprops to those who can endure it and maintain honest, open communication!) which was embarrassing, so I stopped.

Please, consider joining me in the weeks to come.  I will try to wrangle a second hour out of the station so that we can continue to have good times together for just a little bit longer.  Also, gosh, please give me some feedback (good, bad, and ugly) — you can comment on this post, for example, or you could add me as a Facebook friend! Come on! Consider this a friend opportunity!

Hope y’all have a lovely night.  To close out the evening without any dead air, I played MONDO BOYS’ excellent warm-weather mix, entitled, “WEIRD SUMMER”.  Check it outtttt, friends & lovers.  Uplift yourselves!

  1. OMG! I am very pissed that I could not listen to this show as the playlist looks amazing. That Dylan song you played is one of my favorite of his outtakes ever! I hope you can upload these shows soon so i can catch up. Also I quake at your feet for I am no match for your blogging skills. Miss you!

  2. In my excitement I failed to notice that you played not one but TWO Dylan songs. So, in case you were curious, I was referring to Abandoned Love in the above post. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

