mondays @ 8pm on wjhu

2: lady business

In playlist on 8 March 10 at 11:59 am

Happy International Women’s Day, friends & lovers.  In honor of this worldwide occasion, I played a hoppin’ list of female-fronted tunes and talked at length (despite initial microphone difficulties) about the cool things that women & female-bodied folks are up to in music.  An hour’s way too short to highlight the many excellent women that ought to have our attentions, but with just a handful of songs, I hope it wasn’t a bad way to spend the 8pm hour:

  1. Nina Simone, “Funkier Than A Mosquito’s Tweeter”
  2. Dar Williams, “As Cool As I Am”
  3. Sleater-Kinney, “Oh!”
  4. M.I.A., “Paper Planes”
  5. Le Tigre, “Deceptacon”
  6. Lauryn Hill, “Doo Wop (That Thing)”
  7. Wisdom Tooth, “Cathedral Park”
  8. Liz Phair, “Go West”^
  9. Hop Along, Queen Ansleis, “Failure”
  10. Lemuria, “Pants”^
  11. Jubilee, “Killdeer”
  12. Ponytail, “Small Wevs”

    ^ Many thanks to my friend Randi in DC for coming up with the excellent title of this theme, and for all her suggestions!

On the air, I mentioned a few things, including my understanding and engagement with the word “queer” (which you can read more about here, from the Gender Equity Resource Center at UC Berkeley), as well as a few words on three of the musicians I featured on my show.  For more on Jubilee, Wisdom Tooth, and M.I.A., click on their names in the playlist above.

Also, before I forget: JD Samson (formerly of Le Tigre and currently of MEN, a “Brooklyn-based band and art/performance collective that focuses on the energy of live performance and radical potential of dance music”) will be in Baltimore on March 13 at 9pm, with Taxlo and The Very Best; read more here and here.

Thanks so much for listening! I hollered at Aita, John, Scott, Daniel & Robert, Adam, my sisters (Jessica & Alyson!), and the 14 folks on campus who saw fit to tune in.   Eee! Next time, I’ll remember to say hi to Leila and Sarah S-K, too (sorry for missin’ your hellos).  Also, hey! I was informed that the good patrons of Red Emma’s got an earful of “All Things Considered Tops” this evening, which is pretty fucking rad (thanks, Micah).  Whew!

OKAY.  GOOD NIGHT.

Leave a Reply

