mondays @ 8pm on wjhu

6: songs on repeat/songs about my weekend/songs by request/songs about summer

In playlist on 5 April 10 at 9:53 pm

Babies, I didn’t prepare for our time together.  I had a full weekend and a long day at work, so I had only just cobbled together a show with four themes by the time 8:08pm rolled around (seriously, I need to have a word with “The Full Metal Corset Hour” and say, “Listen, can you just justjust PLEASE finish up on time, please? I AM TRYING TO BE PUNCTUAL FOR MY LISTENER BASE”).  Oof.  This was a sloppy playlist, I know, I apologize:

  1. Amadou & Mariam, “Magossa” [start of the Songs I’ve Listened to On Repeat in the Last 2 Weeks theme]
  2. Girls, “Lust for Life”
  3. Jonathan Richman & the Modern Lovers, “Lydia”
  4. Elvis Costello, “Everyday I Write The Book”
  5. Sleater-Kinney, “Modern Girl”
  6. The Modern Lovers, “I Wanna Sleep in Your Arms”
  7. Best Coast, “That’s the Way Boys Are” [start of the Songs About My Weekend theme]
  8. Reading Rainbow, “Restless”
  9. Double Dagger, “Pillow Talk”
  10. The Temptations, “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg” (SISTER JAM!! Love yyyou, Jessica & Alyson)
  11. Hop Along, “Bride and Groom” [start of the Songs Requested by Friends theme] [for Shannon!]
  12. The Dead Milkmen, “Punk Rock Girl” [for Milton!]
  13. Bikini Kill, “I Like Fucking” [for Sonnet! who helps run the illustrious WGTB/Georgetown Radio]
  14. Ryan Adams, “So Alive” [for Emily!]
  15. St. Vincent and the National, “Sleep All Summer” (Crooked Fingers cover) [start of the Songs About Summer, Even Though It’s Only Spring, But Listen, You Know What I’m Trying to Say theme]
  16. Jens Lekman, “A Sweet Summer’s Night on Hammer Hill”
  17. Islands, “Jogging Gorgeous Summer”
  18. Beat Happening, “Indian Summer”

Alright and FINE I’ll just admit it: I was also distracted because Jonah came to visit and what can I say, he’s a mesmerizing dude.

THE TUNE ARRANGEMENTS NEXT WEEK WILL NOT BE SO SHODDY, I PROMISE.  To prove this to you, I’m going to try to orchestrate the Baltimore theme I’ve been talking about for ages.  Get ready for the best music that The City that Reads has to offer!!

Leave a Reply

